In Featured News, Mens, Pennants, Results, South Otago

The Otago Club’s senior team won the provincial pennant title in strong gusty gale-force winds on the Balclutha course yesterday.

The Balmacewen golfers retained the title after qualifying for the final by winning the metropolitan senior A series earlier this year.

Scoring was good considering the conditions which were clearly illustrated when Otago captain Brandon Hodgson required a two iron to reach the 122 metre par 3 third into the wind while hitting a five iron 250 metres downwind a couple of holes later.

Otago beat Lower Waitaki by 5.5 to 0.5 with junior Scott Clark holding the well-performed Daniel Elder to a half for the Oamaru club’s half game.

The Balmacewen golfers won two matches and halved one another in the afternoon to beat Arrowtown by 4.5 to 1.5.

As there was no team from the South Otago sub-association the event was played as a triangular between Otago (metropolitan), Arrowtown (Central Otago) and Lower Waitaki (North Otago).

This meant that only half of each six-man team played each opposition in the morning and played the other half in the afternoon to complete each contest.

The Balmacewen golfers had the edge at lunch leading Lower Waitaki 3 to nil with a narrow 2 to 1 lead over Arrowtown.

Lower Waitaki looked set for second place posting two wins and a loss in their morning match against Arrowtown.

Otago No. 6 Harry Smith brought Lower Waitaki’s chances to an early end notching his team’s fourth win with a resounding 8 and 6 win over Harrison Maaka in the afternoon.

Brandon Hodgson, Nick Borren Tyrone Ratahi and Harry Smith won their two games for Otago while Ben Patson emerged unbeaten with a win in the morning and a half with Arrowtown’s Ben Hamilton in the afternoon.

Arrowtown No. 3 Chris Yallop was the only other player to win both matches while Scott Clark (Lower Waitaki had a win and a half.

The Intermediate and Presidents grades joined the seniors at Balclutha for the annual finals.  Clinton were too strong for Arrowtown in the first Intermediate semi-final and went on to thrash Ardleigh 6 – 0 on the final.  Ardleigh made their way to the final with a win over Chisholm Links in the morning.

In the Presidents section, Heriot and Port Chalmers met in the final after semi-final wins over Tarras and Tokarahi.  The final finished in a 3 all tie and the Pennant was awarded to Heriot with a better hole count of 15 to 10.

Meanwhile at Tapanui, the Senior B, and both Junior grades battled intermittent storms that covered the whole gambit of climate conditions.  Gale force winds, rain and hail caused a number of delays in a day that players will not forget.

North Otago proved to be the best survivors of the conditions to take the Senior B final from Wanaka by a margin of 4 games to 2.  North Otago came through the morning semi with a convincing 5 1/2 to 1/2 win over Island Park, while Wanaka eased past Balclutha 3 1/2 to 2 1/2.

Gladfield took out the Junior A section with a win over Toko by 4 to 2, having defeated Ardleigh 4 1/2 to 2 1/2 in the semi-final while Toko and Queenstown fought out a 3 all tie.  Toko qualified for the final on a hole count of 12 to 7.

The battle for the Junior B title was also a hard fought affair for eventual winners Allan Grange.  The South Otago club tied 3 matches each with Roxburgh in the morning, going through on a hole count of 11 to 6.

Island Park defeated Ardleigh 4 to 2 in the semi-final, but Allan Grange eased by them to take the afternoon final 3 1/2 to 2 1/2.

Full scoreboards are published here:

2015 Senior Pennant Triangular Scoreboard

Pennant Semi Final & Final Scores



Story ODT

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search