In Featured News, Mens, Otago Golf Team, Results

With 3.5 points and 24.5 games, Canterbury was the runaway winner of the South Island interprovincial tournament over four rounds on the Otatara course in Invercargill during the weekend.
Tasman was second with 2.5 points and 16.5 games while a strong Otago octet was a disappointing third with two points and 19 games.

There were six unbeaten players during the fixture with Canterbury’s Matt McLean, Hiroki Miya and Richard Reed leading the way.

Otago captain Chris Snow emerged with three wins and a half while Dale Rutledge, of Tasman, and Liam Balneaves, of Southland, were also unbeaten.

Otago’s woes began on Saturday morning when a slow start cost the team a chance to regain the salver.

Otago trailed both Canterbury and Southland 3-1 at lunch, eventually going down to Southland 5-3.

However, No1 Fraser MacLachlan, No5 Duncan Croudis and No7 Inia Logan rallied in the afternoon allowing Otago to draw with the winner.

Yesterday Otago trounced Aorangi 8-0 which boosted the game tally allowing the team to pass Southland on the final points table.

But Tasman, often an unknown quantity, held Otago to a half yesterday to take second.

The Otago tail emerged with the best records with unbeaten Snow assisted by Logan and Ben Patston with three wins each.

Much interest will now centre on the selection of the five players and reserve to represent Otago in the national interprovincial tournament in Northland in December.

Score Board is Published here:
Men’s SIIP Results 2017


Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search