In Featured News, Representative, Results, Womens

Canterbury was the dominant team in the women’s South Island interprovincial tournament on the Otatara course in Invercargill during the weekend.

Canterbury won all four games, finishing with four points and 27 games, ahead of second-placed Otago which finished with three points and 19.5 games.

Strong individual performances by Hillary O’Connor, Amy Weng, Maddie May and Mel Newburn, who all won all four games, ensured the Canterbury win.

The only other player to post four wins was Otago’s Laura Hoskin, who was the dominant No1.

Olive Tapu (Canterbury) and Michelle Rearden (Tasman) were the only other unbeaten players with three wins and a half each.

Having lost to Canterbury 5-3 on Saturday, Otago needed to beat the other three provinces to take second.

However, at lunch yesterday Otago trailed Aorangi 3.5-0.5 and Tasman 3-1.

A strong finish meant yesterday afternoon meant Hoskin, Abigael Crawford, Susan Greig and Joanna Booker all posted wins over their Aorangi opponents to give Otago a win 4.5-3.5.

The remaining four Otago players all beat their Tasman counterparts giving Otago its third win with a 5-3 victory.

The players will now be eagerly awaiting the selection of the final quintet plus reserve to compete in the national interprovincial tournament to be played on the Waitikiri course, in Christchurch, in December.

The scoreboard is published here:



Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search