In Featured News, Mens, Representative, Results

The Otago quintet had a difficult day to start the 2018 Freyberg Masters at Taupo’s Centennial course yesterday, but the morning round was a lot closer than the final score indicated.

Otago lost the opening encouter to northern neighbours, Aorangi, by 3 1/2 matches to 1 and a half, but 3 of the 5 matches ended as halves.

Aorangi, however, were too strong at the head and tail of their lineup with the very experienced Jason Leary leading the team home with a comfortable 4/3 win over Otago’s Steve Horn.

The afternoon round, against the powerful Auckland side, was all one way traffic, with the Northern powerhouse winning 5 – 0.

Steve Horn, playing at number 1 one for Otago, met his second high class opponent of the day.  Brent Paterson is a former NZ rep with a long list of successful events behind him and he remains one of the countries best “Senior” age group golfers.  He won the encounter 8/6 to lead his team to victory.

The Otago Team is:

1 Steve Horn            Otago

2  Paul Hubbard     Otago

3  Gary Creedy        North Otago

4  Aaron Charteris    Otago

5  Kevin Clark           Cromwell

Reserve    Brett McCormack    Otago

Results and leader-board after two rounds are published here:




Follow progress through the week with NZ Golf Live Leaderboard.  Click link below;

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search